HVAC LICENSE REQUIREMENTS BY STATES WHERE GULFSTREAM SP IS CURRENTLY RECRUITING (CA, AZ, NV, FL, NJ, UT, CO, ID, PA, WA, NJ, MA, CT, & HI)
The Department of Consumer Affairs Contractors State License Board is responsible for licensing HVAC contractors in California. Any work that costs more than $500 requires a C-20 HVAC license. You must have prior authorization from the state and pass both trade and law and the business exams to take the test. You are required to possess at least four years of experience in the last ten years. A bond of $15,000 and proof of employee compensation is needed.
You must have a license from the Arizona Registrar of Contractors to operate as an HVAC contractor in Arizona. To obtain one, you must have four years of HVAC experience in the field you are applying for a license or two years of experience with an internship or course. In addition, you are required to pass the trade and business management exams, register with the SOS or the Arizona Corporation Commission, purchase employee compensation insurance, and pay a cash bond.
Nevada requires a license from HVAC contractors. Refrigeration and air conditioning contractors have a ton of options from many sub-fields. You will need four years of social experience, and you will be required to pass both trade and business exams and a background check. You will also need to submit financial statements.
It is essential to have an HVAC license from the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. The four licenses are:
State Certified Class A Contractor
State Certified Class B Contractor
State Registered Class A Contractor
State Registered Class B Contractor
Class A licenses enable you to work on any unit size. Class B licenses limit you to working with 500,000 BTUs of heating and 25 tons of cooling or less. In addition, you must pass trade and business and financial exams.
You will need a bachelor's degree in HVACR and one year of experience, a bachelor's degree within a relevant field with three years of experience, a completed vocational or trade program and two years experience, or four years as an HVAC trainee with one year of experience. For the state of New Jersey, The New Jersey State Board of Examiners of Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Contractors is in charge of licensing HVAC contractors. In addition, the state requires liability insurance and a $3,000 surety bond.
The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing handles HVAC contractor licenses. You can choose one of several subclasses based on your specialization, and you will need four years of full-time experience over the last ten years. In addition, you will have to pass a trade license legal and business exams.
Colorado does not require a license for HVAC contractors, but certification is possible. A local license may be required.
For the state of Idaho, it's a requirement that everyone in the HVAC sector must be licensed, including trainees, journeymen, and contractors. The Idaho Division of Building Safety has two classes: Contractor and Special Contractor. Before taking your exam, you should have 24 months of experience as a journeyman, and for the Special Contractor licenses as well, 24 months in your specialization. In addition, the state placed a $2,000 compliance bond.
Possessing a state license to operate as an HVAC contractor in Pennsylvania is not required. However, there are specific licensing requirements in the city, so be sure to review them before starting work.
No state licensing is required for HVAC technicians in New York. However, there are local requirements, and you should familiarize yourself with local regulations before working.
The licensing of HVAC contractors is in the hands of The Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. First, you need a certificate from an accredited school to obtain a machine HVAC mechanical license. Then you have to pass the exam.
The licensing of HVAC contractors is in the hands of The New Jersey State Examination Commission for HVACR Contractors. What is needed is a bachelor's degree in HVACR and one year of experience, a bachelor's degree in a related field with three years of experience, or a completed vocational or trade program and two years of experience, or four years as an HVAC trainee with one year of experience. In addition, the state demands liability insurance and a $3,000 surety bond.
In Massachusetts, general HVAC contractors do not require an HVAC license unless they perform refrigeration work. Refrigeration contractors are required to be licensed to work over 10 tons of refrigeration. Your training should be a combination of work and educational experience, such as:
Six thousand hours of internship and 250 hours of education, or
Four thousand hours of internship and 500 hours of education, or
Two thousand hours of internship and 1,000 education hours.
HVAC contractors in Connecticut are required to be licensed. To be qualified for a journeyman's license, you must have completed a recognized apprenticeship program or possess equivalent experience. In addition, you will have to pass both trade and law and business exams. The contractor's license requires two years of experience as a qualified journeyman. It is compulsory to renew your license every year.
HVAC contractors are licensed by The Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, and the special contractual license features the C-52 Ventilating and Air Conditioning Contractor designation. You must possess four years of supervisory experience as a contractor, foreman, journeyman, or contractor in the specialization you have been looking for in the last ten years. You are required to pass both trade and law and business exams. You must provide proof of worker's compensation insurance and liability insurance.
Next Insurance. (n.d.). HVAC License Requirements by State: Next Insurance Guide. [online] Available at: https://www.nextinsurance.com/blog/hvac-license-requirements/.
huckleberry.com. (n.d.). HVAC License Requirements: All 50 States + D.C. [Official Guide] | Huckleberry Insurance. [online] Available at: https://huckleberry.com/blog/hvac-license-requirements-by-state/.